National Merit Semifinalists Announced

Five seniors have been named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists and three more upper school students earned scholar designations from the College Board this week.
Congratulations to Tyler Carlgren, Anders Hwang, Aaram Salam, Alexander White and Charlotte Park on their  achievement. The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC®) announced the names of over 16,000 semifinalists on Wednesday, Sept. 14. These academically talented seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,250 National Merit Scholarships worth nearly $28 million that will be offered next spring. 

Barstow students were also named as recipients of the College Board Scholar Recognition. Junior Dawood Qadeer is a College Board National African American Recognition Program Scholar; senior Allison Orozco is a National Hispanic Recognition Program Scholar; Junior Ava Levin is a National Indigenous Recognition Program Scholar. These designations call out remarkable academic achievement. Scholars must have a 3.5 GPA or higher and score in the top 10% on PSAT/NMSQT exams.
    • Tyler Carlgren, Anders Hwang, Aaram Salam, Alexander White

    • Charlotte Park