Ensuring a Successful Future

When founder Mary Louis Barstow retired in 1923, The Barstow School became a nonprofit corporation overseen by a board of trustees. For nearly a century, the board has appointed heads of school, presided over campus acquisitions and improvements, and upheld Barstow's mission "to promote sound scholarship and to give symmetrical development to mind, body, and character." 

Today, the 18 members of our board of trustees — alumni, parents of current or former students, and supporters from the Kansas City community — ensure that Barstow's core values are reflected in the school's daily operation while planning for its successful future. 

Meet the Trustees

List of 1 items.

  • Chairman

    Joel Brous '88 is a Barstow alumni, parent and Chairman of the Board of Trustees.
    Mr. Brous has been a vice president with Franklin Templeton Investments since 2013. He held a similar position with American Century Investments for 13 years, and previously practiced law with Shugart, Thomson & Kilroy, P.C. He holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Kansas, an MBA from the Olin School of Business, Washington University and a JD from the University of Missouri. 

    Mr. Brous and his wife, Carrie, have three daughters who graduated from or attend Barstow: Zoe '19, Phoebe '21 and Sophie '23.

Executive Committee

List of 7 items.

  • Joel Brous '88

  • Soni Patel

  • Jason Press '90

  • Robert Rothhaas

  • Jennifer Gille Bacon

  • Greg Graves

  • Mira Mdivani



List of 11 items.

  • Susan Belger Angulo '76

  • Tim Cowden

  • Michael Kulp

  • Quinton Lucas '02

  • Amanda Morgan '94

  • Ram Shankar

  • Rochelle B. Stringer

  • Srikala Subramanian

  • Peter A. Vrooman '88

  • Jennifer Thiessen Waldeck '90

  • Shane A. Foster

    Ex Officio