Board of Trustees

Meet the Board Chairman

Joel Brous, Barstow School Class of 1988, works with institutional investors and has been a Vice President with Franklin Templeton Investments, San Mateo, California since 2013. Prior to his current role, Joel held a similar position with American Century Investments, Kansas City for thirteen years. Before working in the investment field, Joel practiced law for Shughart, Thomson & Kilroy, P.C. for four years.

Joel Brous holds a B.S.J. from the University of Kansas, and M.B.A. from the Olin School of Business, Washington University in St. Louis, and a J.D. from the University of Missouri. He holds FINRA licenses Series 6, 7, 24 and 63 and the National Futures Associate license Series 3. He is admitted to practice law in Kansas and Missouri. Joel has served as a trustee for the national Pension Fund of the Christian Church. Joel is married to Carrie Brous, and they have three daughters who have graduated from or attend Barstow: Zoe '19, Phoebe '21 and Sophie '23.


List of 2 items.

  • 2020-2021 Executive Committee

    Mr. Joel Brous '88, Chair

    Ms. Amanda Morgan '94, Vice Chair

    Ms. Susan Belger Angulo '76, Secretary

    Mr. Robert Rothhaas, Treasurer

    Mr. Greg Graves, Member-at-Large

    Ms. Soni Patel, Member-at-Large

    Mr. Jason Press '90, Member-at-Large

    Mr. Thomas F. Whittaker '83, Member-at-Large

  • 2020-2021 Members

    Ms. Jennifer Gille Bacon
    Mr. Tim Cowden
    Mr. Michael Kulp
    Mr. Quinton Lucas '02
    Ms. Mira Mdivani
    Mr. Ram Shankar
    Ms. Rochelle B. Stringer
    Mr. Peter A. Vrooman '88
    Ms. Jennifer Thiessen Waldeck '90

    Ex-Officio Member
    Mr. Shane Foster, President

The Barstow School

11511 State Line Road • Kansas City, MO 64114
P (816) 942-3255 • F (816) 942-3227